The Courts Service is governed by a board consisting of a chairperson and seventeen other members.

The function of the Board is to

  • consider and determine policy in relation to the Service, and
  • oversee the implementation of that policy by the Chief Executive Officer.

Membership of the Board

The Hon. Mr. Justice Frank Clarke, Chairperson Chief Justice of Ireland
The Hon. Mr. George Bermingham President of the Court of Appeal
The Hon. Mr. Justice Peter Kelly President of the High Court
The Hon. Ms. Justice Elizabeth Dunne

Elected by the ordinary judges of the Supreme Court

The Hon. Mr. Justice Michael Peart Elected by the ordinary judges of the Court of Appeal
The Hon. Mr. Justice Seamus Noonan Elected by the ordinary judges of the High Court
The Hon. Mr. Justice Raymond Groarke President of the Circuit Court
Her Honour Judge Alice Doyle Elected by the ordinary judges of the Circuit Court
Her Honour Judge Rosemary Horgan President of the District Court
Judge Conal Gibbons Elected by the judges of the District Court
Ms. Angela Denning Chief Executive Officer of the Courts Service
Mr. Micheál O'Higgins S.C.

Chairman of the Bar Council of Ireland

Mr. Michael Quinlan, Solicitor President of the Law Society of Ireland
Mr. Damien Downey Elected by the staff of the Service
Ms. Carol Baxter, Department of Justice and Equality an officer of the Minister nominated by the Minister
Ms. Karen Kiernan

nominated by the Minister to represent the consumers of the services provided by the courts

Ms. Patricia King nominated by the Irish Congress of Trade Unions
Ms. Deirdre Kiely

nominated by the Minister for relevant knowledge and experience in commerce, finance or administration.


The Courts Service Board has established a number of Committees which support the Board in carrying out its functions. The following committees deal with a range of issues:

  • Finance Committee
  • Building Committee
  • Family Law Court Development Committee
  • Audit and Risk Committee

Further information on the Board and Committees is contained in the Courts Service Governance Framework Document.

Board Governance

The Terms of Reference of the Courts Service Board set out the structure and composition, remit, powers and authority, membership and operating procedures of the Board.  

The Courts Service Board has put in place a Code of Conduct for Board members.  The Code supports the Board in operating to the highest standards of integrity, accountability and transparency.

Board Meetings

The Courts Service Board usually schedules 5 to 6 meetings each year. Additional Board meetings are arranged as required.

A note of matters considered and decisions made at Board meetings can be accessed here 

About Us - Minutes of Meetings 2019 - Attachment Block

Board Meeting Documents

Schedule for 2019

April 8th - Minutes
February 4th -Minutes
January 14th - Minutes      


Schedule for 2018

 December 10th - Minutes
October 15th - Minutes
June 25th - Minutes
April 23rd - Minutes
February 5th - Minutes

Schedule for 2017

December 11th - Minutes
October 9th - Minutes
June 26th - Minutes
April 3rd - Minutes
February 6th - Minutes                 
January 16th - Minutes               


Schedule for 2016

December 12th - Minutes
October 17th - Minutes
June 27th - Minutes
April 11th - Minutes
February 8th - Minutes