The Regulation of Lobbying Act 2015 is designed to provide information for the public on the identity of those communicating with designated public officials on specific policy, legislative matters or prospective decisions.

Further information about the legislation and guidance on the Act is available on

Section 6(4) of the Act requires each public body to publish a list of designated public officials of the body.

The purpose of the list is:

  1. to allow members of the public identify those persons who are designated public officials; and
  2. as a resource for lobbyists filing a return to the Register of Lobbyists who may need to source a Designated Public Official’s details.

Designated public officials within the Courts Service are:

Name Job Title Area of responsibility
Angela Denning Chief Executive Officer Chief Executive
Geraldine Hurley Head of Directorate Offices of the Supreme Court, Court of Appeal, and High Court; Judicial Research Support
Peter Mullan  Head of Directorate Offices of the Circuit Court, District Court, Central Criminal Court, and Special Criminal Court;  Courts Service regional offices
Seán Quigley Head of Directorate Finance (including Courts Service vote and court funds); Organisation Development & Training
Paul Burns Head of Directorate Information & Communications Technology; Estates & Buildings; Human Resources; Information Services (including media)
Audrey Leonard Head of Directorate Reform of court legislation; modernisation of court rules, practices and procedures; support for court rules committees; library services
John Glennon  Probate Officer Probate Office of the High Court; issue of grants of probate and letters of administration
Michael Neary  Property Arbitrator Arbitrator in disputes arising from decisions of the State to acquire land compulsorily